Tree Splitter – Auto-instantiating components on the GH Canvas

25Aug12

Lately I’ve been playing around a bunch with automatically placing Grasshopper components on to the canvas. I did some experiments in this vein a few months ago, but I was inspired to pick it back up by this post by Thibault Schwartz. I published a few small (and fairly useless) experiments, placing sliders or panels automatically with specified values, positions, colors, sizes, connections, etc.

 

 

One one of these images, Michael Pryor made an interesting suggestion: that this technique could be used to automatically instantiate something like a diagram of the data tree, allowing access to the data at any part of the tree. This idea stuck in my brain and I wasn’t satisfied until I had produced an implementation. Check it out in the video below:

 

 

Ultimately, I think this is probably more of a curiosity than anything else, but perhaps someone will find it useful. I’m generally excited by the possibility of Grasshopper definitions that write Grasshopper definitions. If I had unlimited time, programming ability, and patience, my next trick would be to link this technique into a Markov chain analysis of a corpus of existing definitions, and let it loose writing clever definitions all its own 🙂

 

Let me know if you have other ideas for real-world cases in which an automatically generated group of GH components could be useful!

No Responses Yet to “Tree Splitter – Auto-instantiating components on the GH Canvas”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

